Members of the selection panel are now poring over 27 submissions from a very diverse group of people - all of them showing a degree of passion for Renewable Energy.  As expected there were some 11th hour submissions.  The Board did agree that we be a little flexible with the deadline, but I think we're done now as it is not fair on either the panel (who have a lot reading to do) or those who made the effort to submit on time.  We should have at least a shortlist by 16 October 2009 and be able to communicate with applicants that weekend.

Depending on the panel's deliberations, there may be a clear decision from the submissions or we may decide to interview shortlisted candidates before making a final award. 

I am fully aware that there will be 26 disappointed people after we announce the award and have suggested to the rest of the Board that we explore ways of using DBREV to encourage and guide these people in some way.  Resources are limited and most of those working with us receive no remuneration, but we will see what we can do.

The list of applicants as it now stands is:

  1. Ranen Naidoo
  2. Alicia Perumal
  3. Margie Biggs
  4. Cobus Kotze
  5. Johan Kok
  6. Mikail Ansari
  7. Malatji Pholoso
  8. Christina Trautmann
  9. Jacqui Crozier
  10. Gordon Kernick
  11. Shiba Adhikari
  12. Nicole Nsegbe
  13. Kudzai Simbanegavi
  14. Constantin IRABARUTA
  15. Katie Gull
  16. Gaby Coppez
  17. Mithun Kalan
  18. Tim Bvuma
  19. Rolf Werndle
  20. Fatimata Dia
  21. Nonkululeko Xaba
  22. Edward Davies
  23. Oisin Tummon
  24. Lehlogonolo Chiloane
  25. Tessa Mackay
  26. Chris Jackson
  27. Linzi Frost